Time to pay judgments shortened

New for 2007: A Judge of Compensation can now award interest on awards that have not been paid within 60 days. This is a significant change in the law, as compensation judges previously could not award interest for withheld payments until after 90 days. This change has been codified at N.J.S.A. 34:15-28. Practice tip: issue payments due under an award as soon as possible to avoid a motion for interest (which can be brought by petitioner’s counsel or the Judge herself).

Greg Lois is the managing partner of LOIS LLC and dedicates his practice to defending employers and carriers in New York and New Jersey workers' compensation claims. Greg is the author of a popular series of "Handbooks" on workers' compensation, and is the co-author of the 2016 & 2017 Lexis-Nexis New Jersey Workers' Compensation Practice Guide. Greg can be reached at 201-880-7213 or glois@loisllc.com